What, me blog?

Perhaps I am a bit behind the times but apparently blogging has become quite the sensation.  Therefore the question I posed to myself  is why should I blog?  I am a normal average working woman with a less than exciting existence.  The highlight of my day is turning off the computer and leaving my job in the evenings.  What could I possible have to write about that would be of any interest to anybody else?   To help me answer these questions I must first understand the definition of a blog.

According to Merriam Webster the definition of a blog is “a Web site that contains an online personal journal with reflections, comments, and often hyperlinks provided by the writer; also : the contents of such a site.”  Imagine my surprise when I realized that I have been “blogging” for as long as I can remember.  Of course back then we “blogged” with pen and paper and our thoughts were usually contained in some kind of square receptacle with pink butterflies and a cheesy lock that we called a diary.   

            

So now that I have a deeper understanding of what a blog is I must now determine if I have anything of great interest to write about and to share with others.    I have often heard it said that one should write about the subjects that one holds expertise in however I do not think that anyone would be interested in reading about database administration so I strike that subject from the start.  I know a lot about crocheting as well but I fear that subject matter would be of interest to a very limited audience.

Having exhausted the subjects in which I am well versed I revert back to the definition of what a blog truly is; an online personal journal with reflections, comments etc.  In other words I can write about any subject I desire.  I can express my thoughts, feelings and opinions about whatever I want.  Who cares if anyone else finds it entertaining.  Who cares if my subject matter is only relevant to me personally.  This is after all my blog.

I ask myself again, why should I blog?  And my answer is why not?

One response to “What, me blog?

Leave a Reply

