I Did it Segway

After walking the streets of Gettysburg for two days straight my feet felt like I had been walking over a bed of burning coals and we still had the battlefields to tour.  Scanning through the many brochures we had accumulated I turned to my husband and suggested the bus tour.  To my horror he replied “Why don’t we do the Segway tour?”

Immediately I began making excuses as to why we shouldn’t do the Segway tour; it cost too much, the weather is not conducive, we won’t have time to go to dinner.  The truth of the matter was is that I was slightly petrified at the thought of driving one of those things through the busy streets of Gettysburg.

After some gentle coaxing I finally agreed to do the Segway tour.  Upon entering the establishment to our left was a small obstacle course complete with ramps, hills, several twists and turns and of course the standard orange cones.  We were ushered into a screening room where we were fitted with a helmet and required to watch a safety video. 

When the video was complete the instructor asked if anyone was feeling particularly anxious.  Immediately I raised my hand.  As a reward I was invited to be the first person to conquer the obstacle course.  As I stepped up onto the Segway platform I found myself struggling to maintain my balance.  The instructor explained to me that I needed to relax, straighten up my body and let the Segway do all of the work.  To my surprise I found that I was able to maintain control of the Segway with minimal effort and after a few times around the track I was ready to go full speed ahead.  Feeling more confident than ever I could not wait to hit the busy streets of Gettysburg. 

Not only was the Segway fun it was educational too.  Each Segway was identified by the name of a horse that played a critical part in the civil war.  My Segway was named Old Fox.  This horse was ridden by Col. EG Skinner in the First Virginia Infantry. 

As we ventured out into the streets of Gettysburg my unfounded fears began to subside and I found myself enjoying the ride immensely.  With the wind whipping through my clothes and the rain drenching my hair we rode through the battlefields of Gettysburg at 12 mph stopping at various points of interests along the way.  After three hours the tour finally concluded and sadly Old Fox and I had to part ways.  We covered several miles together that day.  Miles that would have gone unexplored had we opted  for the bus tour. 

My new motto – It’s Segway or the highway!

2 responses to “I Did it Segway

Leave a Reply

